FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION 819 TAYLOR STREET, ROOM 14A02 FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76102-9003

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION 300 E. 8TH STREET, ROOM 826 AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701-3225

November 1, 2023

Refer to: HDA-TX

Houston-Galveston Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Conformity Determination 2045 Regional Transportation Plan Update (2045 RTP Update) and 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (2023-2026 TIP)

Mr. Marc D. Williams Executive Director Texas Department of Transportation 125 E. 11th Street Austin, TX 78701-2483

Dear Mr. Williams:

We have reviewed the documentation supporting the transportation conformity determination for the 2045 Regional Transportation Plan Update (2045 RTP Update) and the 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (2023-2026 TIP) adopted by the Houston-Galveston Metropolitan Planning Organization's Transportation Policy Council (TPC) on April 28, 2023. Based upon our review and consultation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), and the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), we hereby find:

• that the 2045 RTP Update and 2023-2026 TIP meet all the requirements for making a joint conformity determination under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.

Additionally, we find:

- that the 2045 RTP Update satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.324 regarding the review and update of metropolitan transportation plans in air quality non-attainment areas; and
- that the 2023-2026 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.326 regarding the update, public involvement, project inclusion, consistency with the plan, and fiscal constraint of TIPs in air quality non-attainment areas.

The interagency consultative partners have indicated that they have no unresolved issues concerning this conformity determination in their letters dated: October 26, 2023, for TCEQ, September 11, 2023, for TxDOT, and October 27, 2023, for EPA. The conformity determination and procedures used to make this determination are in accordance with the provisions of the transportation conformity rule (40 CFR Parts 51 and 93), dated August 15, 1997, as amended.

Please note that this action restarts the four-year time clock associated with the update of the RTP. Accordingly, an updated RTP and corresponding transportation conformity determination will be required by November 1, 2027.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) acts as executive agent for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) on metropolitan transportation plan and transportation improvement program air quality conformity determinations. Accordingly, this letter will serve as a joint FHWA/FTA conformity determination.

Should you have any questions concerning this action, please contact Jose Campos at <u>Jose.Campos@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5932, Barbara Maley at <u>Barbara.Maley@dot.gov</u> or (972) 561-8025 or Krystal Lastrape at <u>Krystal.Lastrape@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5922.

Sincerely yours,

Edward Ofori

Acting Division Administrator

Electronic copies:

Federal Transit Administration, Region 6 (FTA-6)

Donald Koski David Bartels

Ronisha Hodge

Federal Highway Administration

Headquarters (HEPP-10, HEPN-40)

Harlan Miller Cecilia Ho

Texas Division (FHWA-TX)

TX-DA Al Alonzi TX-PPD

Michael Leary Jose Campos Barbara Maley Krystal Lastrape

TX-OPS

Phil Pratt (HOU) Justin Ham (Major Projects)

TX-Finance

United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 (EPA)

Melanie Magee Jeff Riley

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

Donna Huff Jamie Zech

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)

Transportation Planning and Programming Division (TPP)

Humberto 'Tito' Gonzalez, Jr.

Mildred Litchfield

Janie Temple Laura Norton Casey Wells Phillip Tindall Raymond Sanchez Mansour Shiraz

Environmental Affairs Division (ENV)

Doug Booher

Tim Wood Glendora Lopez

Public Transportation Division (PTN)

Eric Gleason Michael Dietz

Mark Sprick

Houston District (HOU)

Eliza Paul James Koch

Charles Airiohuodion Catherine McCreight

Houston-Galveston Metropolitan Planning Organization

David Robinson, Chairman, TPC

Chuck Wemple, Executive Director, H-GAC

Craig Raborn, Transportation Director, H-GAC

Houston Metro

Tom Lambert Vincent Sanders