TRANSPORTATION SAFETY COMMITTEE

MEETING SUMMARY

Tuesday, June 23, 2020 – 1:30 P.M Houston-Galveston Area Council 3555 Timmons Lane, Houston, TX 77027 Virtual WebEx Teleconference Meeting

MEMBERS PRESENT

Joshua Zuber – AAA-Texas Kristen Beckworth – Texas Children's Hospital. Robert Benz, P.E. – Texas A&M Trans. Institute Kevin Thompson – Fort Bend County Trans. Sean Wright – Seabrook Police Department Jeff McKinney – Jetco Delivery Ken Fickes – Harris County Transit Sharon Moses-Burnside –City of Houston Planning and Development Bruce Mann – Port Houston Anita Hollman – H-GAC Sean Cagan – Metro

STAFF PRESENT

Stephan Gage – H-GAC David Fink –H-GAC Cassandra Marshall –H-GAC

ITEM 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:37 p.m.

ITEM 2. Introductions

Members and H-GAC staff introduced themselves.

ITEM 3. Public Comments

No public comments.

ITEM 4. Approval of Minutes for March 24, 2020

Meeting minutes were approved.

ITEM 5. Issue Updates (Stephan Gage)

- H-GAC Staff updated members on the following items from the previous meeting:
 - 1. *Regional Safety Campaign*-The committee was informed consultant is narrowing ideas and close to finalizing the campaign. No date has been set on when the campaign will launch. More details will be given at the next meeting.

2. *TXDOT Grant Application*- Stephen Ratke informed the committee that TxDOT Houston District's application did not get selected for FHWA funding for development of safety analysis tools.

3. *Congestion Management Process Update*-Currently, H-GAC is completely updating its Congestion Management Process (CMP). There are five safety performance measures that we are mandated to track.

The federal government mandates that we consider congestion as part of the project development. Staff solicited interest for participation on the Congestion Management Process (CMP) subcommittee.

ALTERNATES PRESENT

Anne O' Ryan– AAA Texas Jeff Kaufman – Texas AM Transportation Institute Stuart Corder – Harris County Transportation and Planning Ugonna Ughanze – TXDOT Houston District Lauren Grove – City of Houston Planning and Development

OTHERS PRESENT

Matthew DeLeon – TxDOT Stephen Ratke – FHWA

ITEM 6. Subcommittee Reports

There were no subcommittee reports.

WORK ITEMS

ITEM 7. City of Houston Vision Zero (Lauren Grove)

Ms. Laruen Grover, Transportation Planner with the City of Houston Planning Department presented information on the City of Houston Vision Zero campaign that was launched on June 9, 2020. The focus of the campaign is to reduce traffic deaths in the City of Houston to zero. Moreover, Vision Zero seeks to prioritize street safety and ensure the way we move is safe for the environment we live in.

ITEM 8. Safety Performance Measures (Stephan Gage)

Staff discussed the Texas Transportation Commission adoption of a minute order to reduce traffic deaths by 2050. Because of this, TxDOT is developing new methodology to calculate and report on five safety performance measures annually. The new methodology involves establishing targets based on five-year rolling averages.

ITEM 9. Impaired Driving Action Plan (Stephan Gage)

Staff solicited interest from members to be a part of the subcommittee. Need a minimum of six people to meet and further address this problem and develop recommendations to address the problem. Discussion continued with interest in the subcommittee name being changed to "The Impaired Action Plan". Staff agreed and will follow-up with the members that are interested in participating.

INFORMATION ITEMS

ITEM 10. Other Matters/ Member Updates (Stephan Gage)

- LaPorte PD-Approved in March alternate member will change to Sgt. Michael Harness.
- Fort Bend County Transit-Pending new member will be Tom Kuczynski as primary member.
- Stephen Ratke from FHWA offered to give a presentation on "How we can control speed through design".

Next Meeting: August 25, 2020

Meeting Adjourned at 3:19 p.m.