Armand Bayou I-Plan

Coordination Committee Meeting Summary

September 18, 2013

H-GAC: Aubin Phillips, Steven Johnston

TCEQ: Jason Leifester, Lauren Oertel

<u>Meeting Attendees</u>: Linda Broach (TCEQ), Rose Sobel (University of Houston, Carol LaBreche (COH), Einar Goerland (Taylor Lake Village), Jason Iken (COH), Scott Jones (GBF), Dennis Paul (City of Houston), Doug Blanchard (Taylor Lake Village), Christen Specht (TXDOT), Tim Tietjens (City of LaPorte), Kim Laird (TCEQ), Alan Amor (NASA/JSC), Latrice Babin (HCPCS), Robert Snoza (HCFCD), Brian Koch (TSSWCB)

This meeting was held at The Armand Bayou Nature Center. There were approximately 19 people in attendance. Attendees made self introductions before getting started with the meeting. It was noted that there were only six Coordination Committee members present, so there was not a quorum to take a vote.

The group first discussed the upcoming BIG meeting. The group will meet on October 15 from 1:30 to 3:30 PM at the H-GAC offices. Topics of discussion will include: tracking progress through implementation, MS4 annual reports, BMP databases, housekeeping, funding opportunities, and bringing in new watersheds such as Armand Bayou. Steven has been meeting with BIG members individually and they are comfortable doing a conditional approval for Armand Bayou until the TMDL is completed. The group wants the TMDL to be approved first, so they will need to wait until the May or October 2014 meetings, depending on when it is ready.

By conditionally joining the BIG, the Armand Bayou group is able to start taking action and benefitting from the BIG. There was then some discussion about what TCEQ may need as "proof" that the Armand group has joined the BIG. Will they need a support document? Letters of support? Possibly the BIG could submit a letter to the TCEQ Commissioners that they are having the Armand group join them. What the Armand group does will set a precedent for other watersheds that will join the BIG in the future.

The group discussed whether or not they should continue meeting since they are joining the BIG. There seemed to be interest in having the group continue to meet, but meet less frequently. They can also attend the Armand Bayou Watershed Partnership meetings (Tim Tietjens can add everyone to that email list), they can join the BIG workgroups, and everyone will be added to the BIG email list so that they will receive those notifications.

It is expected that the TMDL technical document should be finished in November, from there is will go to TCEQ and the TSSWCB, then it will go out for public comment and to the TCEQ Commissioners. This could be a 6-8 month process. The document will be hosted on the TCEQ website and can be linked to the Armand Bayou I-Plan site.

The next meeting of the Armand Bayou I-Plan coordination committee will be after the BIG meeting, an email will be sent out to discuss based on the outcome of that meeting.

Interest	Representative
City of Houston	Dennis Paul, District E
City of Pasadena	Daya Dayananda, Asst. Dir of Public Works
City of La Porte	Tim Tietjens, Director of Planning
City of Deer Park	Vacant
Taylor Lake Village	Einar Goerland, City Council
Harris County	Catherine Elliott, HCFCD
Environmental	Grace Martinez, Sierra Club
	Steve Hupp, Bayou Preservation Assoc
	Mark Kramer, ABNC
Education	George Guillen, UH/EIH
Business/Industry	CA Shields, BAHEP/marketing
Recreation/Parks	Roni Skirvin, CLC Green Plan - Hike/Bike
	Claire Mules, Golf Course Committee
	Tyson Vodochodsky, Pinky's Kayak
Water Authority	Bob Savely, CLCWA
State Agency	Brian Koch, TSSWCB
ABWP	Diane Humes
Transportation	Tom Beck, TXDOT

List of Coordination Committee Members – those in attendance are in bold