FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION 819 TAYLOR STREET, ROOM 8A36 FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76102-9003

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION 300 E. 8TH STREET, ROOM 826 AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701-3225

November 4, 2022

Refer to: HPP-TX

Houston-Galveston Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Conformity Determination 2045 Regional Transportation Plan (2045 RTP) 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (2021-2024 TIP)

Mr. Marc D. Williams
Executive Director
Texas Department of Transportation
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701-2483

Dear Mr. Williams:

We have reviewed the documentation supporting the transportation conformity determination for the amended 2045 Regional Transportation Plan (2045 RTP) and amended 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (2021-2024 TIP) adopted by the Houston-Galveston Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Policy Council on June 24, 2022. Based upon our review and consultation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), and the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), we hereby find that:

• the amended 2045 RTP and amended 2021-2024 TIP meet all the requirements for making a joint conformity determination under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.

Additionally, we find that:

- the amended 2045 RTP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.324 regarding the review and update of metropolitan transportation plans in air quality non-attainment areas; and
- the amended 2021-2024 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.326 regarding the update, public involvement, project inclusion, consistency with the plan, and fiscal constraint of TIPs in air quality non-attainment areas.

This conformity determination addresses project changes as adopted by the MPO Transportation Policy Council and reflected in the corresponding Plan and Program.

The interagency consultative partners have indicated that they have no unresolved issues concerning this conformity determination in their letters dated: November 2 for TCEQ, November 2, for TxDOT and November 3, for EPA. The conformity determination and procedures used to make this determination are in accordance with the provisions of the transportation conformity rule (40 CFR Parts 51 and 93), dated August 15, 1997, as amended.

Please note that this action does not restart the four-year time clock associated with a four-year plan update.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) acts as executive agent for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) on metropolitan transportation plan and transportation improvement program air quality conformity determinations. Accordingly, this letter will serve as a joint FHWA/FTA conformity determination.

Should you have any questions concerning this action, please contact Jose Campos at <u>Jose.Campos@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5932, Barbara Maley at <u>Barbara.Maley@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5926 or Krystal Lastrape at <u>Krystal.Lastrape@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5922.

Sincerely yours,

Achille Alonzi Division Administrator

Electronic copies:

Federal Transit Administration, Region 6 (FTA-6)

Donald Koski

David Bartels

Ronisha Hodge

Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division (FHWA-TX)

TX-PPD Michael Leary, Jose Campos, Barbara Maley, Krystal Lastrape

TX-OPS Philip Pratt, Justin Ham

TX-Finance

United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 (EPA)

Jeff Riley

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

Donna Huff

Jamie Zech

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)

Transportation Planning and Programming Division (TPP)

Humberto "Tito" Gonzalez, Jr., P.E.

Janie Temple, Laura Norton

Casey Wells, Phillip Tindall, Raymond Sanchez

Environmental Affairs Division (ENV)

Doug Booher

Tim Wood, Glendora Lopez

Houston District (HOU)

Eliza Paul

James Koch, Charles Airiohuodion, Catherine McCreight

Houston-Galveston Metropolitan Planning Organization

David Robinson, Chairman, TPC

Chuck Wemple, Executive Director, H-GAC

Craig Raborn, Transportation Director, H-GAC

Houston Metro

Tom Lambert

Vincent Sanders