5. APPROVAL TO FILL VACANCIES ON THE TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND TRANSPORTATION SAFETY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Background

The membership of the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) and the Transportation Safety Committee (TSC) were approved at the Transportation Policy Council meeting on January 29, 2021. Due to staffing changes in member agencies since the approval, the TAC has vacant positions for Alternate Members under the following at-large categories: Citizen Interests, Planning, Airport, and Cities Less than 50,000 Population. The TSC has a vacant position for a Primary member under the Law Enforcement/Fire/EMS/Emergency Management category.

Current Situation

Staff requested and received nominations from the TPC for the above positions. Staff is coordinating with the 2021 TPC Nominating Committee to develop recommendations to fill vacancies. The TPC Nominating Committee for 2021 is composed of Mayor Joe Zimmerman (City of Sugar Land) - Chair, Commissioner Grady Prestage (Fort Bend County), John Blount (Harris County), Mr. Chuck Wemple (H-GAC), Council Member Sallie Alcorn (City of Houston), Council Member Larry Millican (City of League City), and Judge Mark Keough (Montgomery County). The recommendations from the Nominating Committee will be presented at the TPC meeting.

Action Requested

Approval to fill vacancies on the Transportation Advisory Committee and Transportation Safety Committee membership.